Monster Monday 37.

“There are many strange legends in the Amazon.
Even I, Lucas, have heard the legend of a man-fish.”

– from The Creature from the Black Lagoon
One of my favorite Universal Studios Movie Monsters is the Creature from the Black Lagoon. It still amazes me to this day that they were able to pull off some of those underwater special effects back in 1954. When I was a kid I have fond memories of when they re-released the flick in 3D on television in the 80’s. I remember going to the supermarket with my Mom to get enough 3D glasses for the entire family, making popcorn and being really excited to see one of my favorites monsters in 3D. The 3D effect wasn’t great but it was really fun to have all of us gathered around the t.v. for an evening filled with movie monster fun! Hard to believe that was the early 80’s, sounds like something out of the 50’s.
Above: A pen and ink sketch of one of my all-time favorite Universal Studio Movie Monsters the Creature from the Black Lagoon. This sketch is brush (Windsor-Newton Series 7 watercolor brush #1) in India ink (Higgins Black Magic) over red pencil.

One thought on “Monster Monday 37.

  1. Pingback: Monster Mondays - Party In The Key Of Nerd

Leave a comment