Los Monstruos de Del Toro

del_toro_tribute_wip_by_patch_002“Well, the first thing is that I love monsters, I identify with monsters.” – Guillermo del Toro
ME TOO!

I am extremely excited to announce my participation in the group exhibition “Guillermo del Toro: In Service of Monsters”. If you are familiar with my work, even just casually, you know I love monsters and I am particularly fond of all things Guillermo! This group art show at Gallery 1988 in LA will feature some really great friends like Jeffro Kilpatrick and Mike Wohlberg, so honored to share wall space with these dudes. And if that wasn’t enough this exhibition will feature exclusive works by Guy Davis, Glenn Barr, Alex Pardee, Chet Zar and the one, the only Mike Mignola. Every artist on this list has inspired and informed my work in some way. So, needless to say, I am super-excited about my participation in what can only be described as the Monster show to end ALL Monster shows!
Top of page: Detail of my finished poster titled “Los Monstruos de Del Toro” including a Kaiju, Jaegar and Tooth Fairy (pictured).
Below: The entire pen and ink piece for “Los Monstruos de Del Toro” featuring 13 different del Toro creatures.

del_toro_inks_complete_by_patch_to_postMy contributions include a limited run poster (100 pieces) featuring 13 different creatures from the films of Mr. del Toro. Also on display will be a the framed pen and ink original that I created for the poster. My piece is titled “Los Monstruos de Del Toro” and measures approximately 5.5 inches by 17 inches.
001_del_toro_color_by_patch_to_postAbove: The full color version of the piece used for the limited run printed poster (100 pieces printed on 120lb stock).

If you know me personally, than you know that between the subject matter, the friends and creative inspiration included in the exhibitors list this show is a huge honor. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the curators Chogrin and Gary Deocampo  as well as Gallery 1988 for putting this exhibition together. Wish I could be there but, fittingly, I can only be there in spirit. Cheers!

Below: The promo poster for the Guillermo del Toro: In Service of Monsters Group Art Show designed by Chogrin.
11950240_872883532807_8175086262110557608_oGUILLERMO DEL TORO: IN SERVICE OF MONSTERS
A group art show in tribute to the filmography of Guillermo del toro.
Curated by Chogrin (チョグリン) Illustration & Design & Gary Deocampo.
September 11th – October 3rd, 2015
Opening Reception: Friday, Setember 11th (7-10pm)
Gallery 1988 (West)
7308 Melrose Acenue
Los Angeles, CA 90046

 

Leave a Reply

