See You in September.

On the Road Ahead
This Saturday I’ll be speaking at the 5th Annual David Nasto Memorial Walk for Oral Cancer Awareness. This is a first for me. I’ve spoken with groups of students, friends, and fellow creatives but never to an entire group of patients, survivors and caregivers. I am so honored to be part of this event held each year in memory of the coordinator’s brother, David Nastro. Melissa and I met Susan Nastro Lauria and her husband a few months ago and became fast friends. Her passion for raising oral cancer awareness is only matched by her love for her brother. You can read more about the event and even donate here. It’s a cause that is near and dear to me, please be sure and check this out.
In the Rearview Mirror
Two weeks ago the PCS debuted their third Anthology “Lotherly Brove” at Locust Moon Comics. We ate like Kings, talked shop and had an all around great time! If you have never been to Locust Moon you’re missing out. There’s no other comic shop like it in Philly. If you missed the event you can pick up a copy of the book here.
Melissa and I just got back from SPX, the Small Press Expo held every year in Bethesda, MD. It is without question my favorite comic convention. I shared some space with my good buddy James Point Du Jour and his writer and friend Missy Hodges. They were promoting their wonderful new Children’s Book “A Giraffe Past Bedtime.” Lomax and I sold our wares, met a bunch of really talented folks and basically geeked-out for an entire weekend. I even did my first con interview. I’ll be sure to let you know when it goes live. The highlight of the weekend was meeting and talking with Joyce Brabner. It was her work with her husband Harvey Pekar on “Our Cancer Year” that was the inspiration for my own cancer sketchbook. Melissa and I had a chance to chat with her (she really took to Lomax) and I gave her a copy of my book with our thanks and love. Joyce is in the process of raising money to erect a statue honoring Harvey in his hometown of Cleveland. You can see an update about the progress on the project here.
As a survivor, every now and then I like to take stock and see where I am at in life.
If you have ever read this blog before you may have already read this – but I am one extremely fortunate and lucky dude.
A special thanks goes out to Lomax for burgers in bed and a six hour car ride without turning on the radio once!
Above: A pic of yours truly and the lovely and talented Joyce Brabner.
Below: A little slideshow of the PCS Book Release and SPX.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Leave a Reply

