“There are no wrong roads to anywhere.”

“Whether or not you find your own way, you’re bound to find some way. If you happen to find my way, please return it, as it was lost years ago. I imagine by now it’s quite rusty.”
Norton Juster, The Phantom Tollbooth

A while back my good friend, Concetta, invited me to a lecture given by Norton Juster, celebrating the 50th Anniversary of The Phantom Tollbooth. Concetta is a huge fan of the book (so much so it is contagious) and I am always up for a good lecture at the library, especially when it pertains to Children’s literature. I just sat there in that auditorium  sketching and listening to one of the most entertaining, smart and creative people I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting. I became an instant fan. He spoke to children and adults alike about his process, the origin of his ideas and his passion for puns. I learned so much during that hour or so, about myself and being creative. Even now as I am typing this post I realize the huge effect that talk had on my writing and recent artwork.
A big thanks to Mr. Juster for my awesome signed copy of The Phantom Tollbooth and to Concetta for her infectious excitement for a wonderful book.
Above: My favorite sketch of Norton Juster from that Saturday afternoon spent at the library.

 

7 thoughts on ““There are no wrong roads to anywhere.”

  1. Did you know they made of movie of the book? The animated portion was directed by Chuck Jones. I saw it when I was a kid, loved it and one of these day I’m going to get a copy to share with my girls.

Leave a Reply

