“And now the sun’s comin’ up, I’m riding with Lady Luck.” – Tom Waits

I Put the Can in Cancer: A Journey Through Pictures

I was recently interviewed by Kathy Davis; greeting card artist/designer extraordinaire. I was extremely fortunate to be the first artist featured for their “Inside the Artist’s Studio” series. It was a heartfelt and fun discussion on art, inspiration and the creative process. We also did a tour of our studio and looked at some projects currently in the works. This is the first time, outside of a classroom, that I discussed my book, “I Put the Can in Cancer: A Journey Through Pictures”. Please click the link and you can see the interview here.

As many of you know in 2007 I was diagnosed with cancer. Specifically squamous cell carcinoma of the lateral tongue, which is fancy talk for cancer of the tongue. During that time I kept a sketchbook. Each day of treatment I would draw for an hour or so. During that hour I wasn’t a cancer patient I was just me. I shared the results with friends, family and colleagues and through their encouragement I set out to publish this book. I am happy to say that before the year’s end it will see print. I am happier to say that with help from Joe DiDomenico from Applehead Factory and Jennifer Lemisch from Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia copies of this book will be given to teens and tweens undergoing treatments at CHOP.

This book was more than two years in the making. Battling cancer was the hardest thing I ever had to do. Chronicling my journey through these drawings and now this book has been one of the most rewarding experiences ever. In the weeks and months that follow leading up to the book’s release I hope to catalog my “journey through pictures” here on my blog. The upcoming posts will document and share my struggles with life before, during and after cancer as I enter into my fourth year of being cancer free. There will also be posts that deal directly with the information I have gathered about the process of putting this book together.

Please be sure to leave a comment on the Kathy Davis blog. I cannot begin to thank her and her awesome team of creative geniuses enough. being interviewed by Kathy was an amazing experience. So let’s show her some love!

Above: The cover of my book featuring a photo by Concetta Barbera and designed by Joe DiDomenico.
Below: The drawing that started the whole process. I did this doodle while awaiting my first PET Scan that would determine my course of treatment.

This book would not have been possible without the assistance of both the UArts Faculty Enrichment Grant and the UArts Pre-College Programs Professional Development Grant.

12 thoughts on ““And now the sun’s comin’ up, I’m riding with Lady Luck.” – Tom Waits

  1. Patch – I so appreciate the wonderful comments, but I was lucky one- to spend some time with you- to see you in your creative space – and to hear your thoughts. Thank you for showing your amazing artwork, and,most of all, thanks for sharing yourself, your studio and your inspiring story so generously! Can’t wait for the book!

    p.s. great shot of you and Melissa!!!

  2. James – Thanks man. I’ll be sure to give you a heads up when we do a book release. I looking at a fall release (fingers crossed). Hope you are having a good summer.

  3. Pingback: A Rewarding Month. « Art by Patch

  4. olá! estive procurando esta letra de tom waits. sei que some um pouco da matéria a cima, mas quem é Lady Luck?. gostaria muito de saber e parabéns pelo blog…

Leave a Reply

