A Very Special Monster Monday No. 07

As we head into June I am participating in what has to be my favorite art exhibition of the year, the “Celebration of Life”. This is the 12th year for the event and my 4th year of exhibiting work. Many of you know that I am a cancer survivor myself and this event goes hand in hand with my recovery and has a special place in my heart. Greatly due to the fact that every year I hang a piece of art in this show I get to celebrate another wonderful year of living cancer free. The exhibit consists of artwork by those undergoing treatments, survivors like myself and those touched by cancer in some way. Doctors and nurses are encouraged to participate as well and last year there we two moving talks given by two outstanding medical professionals. This year my new friend through Navigating the New Normal, Jackie Roth Kern, will be speaking and I am really looking forward to it. She’s awesome!

So what does this have to do with Monster Monday? Well I will be displaying two new prints from my cancer sketchbook along with the design for the cover of the book. Both prints feature monsters. One, is of King Kong and the second (featured above) is chock full of Robots. After careful consideration and an informal debate (a.k.a. nerd talk on Facebook with Eamon and Alex) I will now include Robots into the Monster Monday roster.

If you happen to be in the Center City area this Wednesday, June 8th between 4pm and 7pm be sure and stop by. I have posted a copy of the invite at the bottom, don’t worry about the registration part, just tell them – Patch sent ya!
And if you want to get a sneak peak of the book I am working on “I Put the Can in Cancer; A Journey Through Pictures” just ask me at the show. Not only will I have the cover on display, but I will have a proof of the book on hand as well. Below is a pic of yours truly from last year’s event.

A special thanks goes out to: Katie and the Gang at Jefferson University and Hospitals, The Kimmel Cancer Center, Navigating the New Normal, James Heimer (silk-screener extraordinaire) and Joe DiDomenico (design guru).


4 thoughts on “A Very Special Monster Monday No. 07

  1. Chris, I had no idea you had cancer. I’m so glad you beat it. The world needs all the talented artists it can hold!

    Nice to see your smiling face and find your blog through Kyle’s today.

    Hope our paths will cross someday! I really want to bring our boys up to Philly sometime in the near future to see some old friends and take them to Sesame Place and Hershey park of course ;-D.

    Best Wishes to you and your show this week!

    Brittany

    P.s. Wish you had a link so I could receive your blog posts in my email (via Feedburner). That way I wouldn’t forget to catch up on your blog.

  2. Brittany, so good to hear from you! Sounds like you are doing well. Thank you so much for the kind words. Support, both emotional and creative, means so much. It would be amazing for your boys to experience Philly. Home of the cheese steak and more importantly where Big Bird lives! Thanks again and keep in touch!

    P.S. Thanks for the heads up on Feedburner, I now have a feed on my blog along with an icon to link/subscribe to it!

  3. I’m so upset I missed this show 😦
    I am in love with the chock full of robots. First thing I though when I saw them were those Peter de Seve drawings of robots. So raw and full of personality. I can’t wait for your book to be published, I’m really excited about it. I’ll be checking your blog more often now that my internet is back to normal. I hope the show went well (though I’m pretty sure it did, you can never go wrong with robots). And I hope the summer is treating you well.

  4. Crystal, thank you for stopping the ol’ blog. And a BIG thanks for the Peter deSeve comment, love Mr. deSeve. Book is in the home stretch. I will be posting about it regularly in the weeks to come. Summer is good, hope your is awesome! See you soon!

Leave a Reply

