The most wonderful time of the year.

My career as an illustrator and designer started with greeting cards. My first mailings to potential clients were cards I made by hand and mailed out. Many of my friends and classmates did the same. Something about greeting cards just struck a chord with my art and design sensibilities. Later, I would work in-house for an area greeting card company and ultimately become their Art Director before setting out to do work for clients on the freelance basis with Melissa. We did a lot of work for a healthy list of clients including some of the larger department store chains. At the last total I think I had designed and worked on nearly 300 to 400 designs in the decade I have been working in the greeting card and gift ware markets.
Melissa and I still send hand-made materials, mainly to friends and family. Our list is almost 100 strong and growing as we meet so many amazing artists through our membership with the Philadelphia Cartoonist Society and the various galleries we exhibit with.

Below are a few of my holiday designs.

2 thoughts on “The most wonderful time of the year.

  1. Great post Patch! It’s been a honor and tons of fun to create with you over the years. It’s really impressive to see the amount and variety of cards you’ve designed! Looking forward to working together on our ‘New Year’s Art Project’! xo

Leave a Reply

