Back to School.


This week I started back to teaching at University of the Arts. I am both an instructor in the Illustration department and an alumni of the university. I love teaching there, the students are extremely talented and the faculty is amazing. This year I was asked to create an image to accompany the senior postcard portfolio. This is a packet of images created by the graduating seniors that is mailed out to art directors and studios as a means of promotion. This was a huge honor for me, so I tried to do the students proud. We had a short deadline, about a week, so there were a few late nights involved. I really liked the end result.

Above is a photo of the finished postcards scattered across my drawing desk.
Below is the sketch, the completed inks and the finished piece colored digitally.
(click on images for a larger view)




The theme for the postcards created by faculty is that the logo of the university has always been around, you just never really noticed it before. I loved this concept, the idea that so many of our former students are making the things you see everyday (toys, packaging, children’s books, etc…) but you just don’t know it. This concept is very close to my heart. I chose, with the help of the head of the department, Mark Tocchet, the image of Chuck Taylor sneakers dangling from phone lines. This is a rite of passage for many Philadelphians and I thought it spoke to both the home of the  university and the theme. And what city scene of Philly would be complete without pigeons?
If you count the pigeons from left to right you get “215” the area code of Philadelphia.

<!–[if !mso]> <! st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) } –>

The theme for the postcards created by faculty is that the logo of the university has always been around you just never really noticed it before. I loved this concept, the idea that so many of our alumni are making the things you see everyday (toys, packaging, children’s books, etc…) but you just don’t know it is very true to my heart. I chose, with the help of the head of the department, Mark Tocchet, the image of Chuck Taylor sneakers dangling from phone lines. This is a rite of passage for many Philadelphians and I thought it spoke to the home of our university as well as the theme. And what city scene of Philly would be complete without pigeons? If you count the pigeons from left to right you get “215” the area code of Philadelphia.

Leave a Reply

